Convent of Mercy (Sacred Heart College)
George Fincham 1884, 2m, 13 speaking stops, mechanical action
The Chapel of the Convent of Mercy was designed by Victorian architect T.A. Kelly and constructed in 1871-74 together with the adjacent wings, all in bluestone, with sandstone detailing and in the Decorated Gothic style. At a later stage a long western transept was constructed, exactly matching the original.
The lofty chapel is of particular interest for the verticality of its proportions, the exquisite window tracery, fine stained glass and stations of the cross. The sanctuary has a groined wooden ceiling that is stencilled together with the surrounding walls. The original stalls survive, the inner row now placed at the rear under the lofty gallery which contains an intact 1884 organ built by George Fincham that originally cost £400. Exactly 100 years later, in 1984, the instrument was carefully restored by George Fincham & Sons Pty Ltd and is currently in excellent condition.
This very fine instrument is of particular note for its architect-designed Gothic case containing spotted metal façade pipes, its reversed mechanical action console, unique in Fincham’s oeuvre, and the use of a Flautina 2ft in place of the more usual Great Fifteenth 2ft. The console details, stop engraving and nameplate are identical with Trinity Uniting (formerly Congregational) Church, Brighton, built at the same time by Fincham, although the Newtown organ has more elaborate Blackwood keycheeks.
Swell to Great
Great to Pedal
Swell to Pedal
3 composition pedals to Great
Lever swell pedal
Mechanical key and stop action
Reversed drawstop console
Photos: JRM 2007